Open 9am-9pm, Seven Days a Week - Closed Christmas Day & Easter Day
0 items in the shopping cart

Product Reviews


Ameri-Mints

Ameri-Mints "The Original Pastel Mints"


1 pound box (also see half-dipped Ameri-Mints)


Overall Rating: 4 Stars
Based on 24 reviews


Newest Product Reviews for Ameri-Mints "The Original Pastel Mints"

Sort by

Customer Reviews

Just as I remember
5 Stars
by Kris Robinson from Virginia Beach, VA on Jan 17, 2017

I have been looking for these for years. I remember my grandmother buying them when I was a child. I immediately opened my order and they are exactly the same. Love them!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Sticky, all stuck together, defensive response from Oliver's
1 Stars
by Connie from Cape Coral, FL on Jan 14, 2017

I ordered 4 boxes of this on 11/22/16, as Christmas gifts. I have had these several times and they were SUPERIOR! NOT this time! They were sticky, all stuck together. I emailed and was told (defensively!) that they are only good for 2 weeks, so would not have been good utnil Christmas, and also that I was supposed to open the box so they could "air". None of these things were relayed to me, either at time of order or in the shipping box. I have received these for Christmas and enjoyed them at Valentine's Day, so know this was just a bad batch. Their response was curt and defensive when I was only trying to alert them to an issue. Not very professional or business-like. Very disappointed, as previous orders were irresistably delicious.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Brought back good memories...
5 Stars
by a member from St Louis, MO on Dec 12, 2015

I was so happy to find these for my Mom, who remembered enjoying them when she was a child. They are outstanding and highly recommended. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Now a tradition
5 Stars
by Deborah Washington from Barkhamsted, CT on Dec 9, 2015

A couple of years ago I searched and searched for these candies my husband remembered from his childhood. I had no idea if these were them, but they were and he was thrilled. I have been buying him some for every Christmas. I didn't last year and he was bummed. So putting in my order today. Thank you that you keep making them--you make my husband very happy and sometimes he'll even share one with me. :)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


This is what I've been looking for!
5 Stars
by Michael Williams from Mansfield, TX USA on Apr 22, 2015

My box arrived in beautiful condition. ( no small feat considering how the USPS handles packages) Oliver's does a remarkable job of protecting these delicacies. My only wish is that Orange would be included in the regular box along with the other 4 flavors. Worth every penny to taste them again. Thank you Oliver's!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Finally Found!!
5 Stars
by Howard Sugarman from NY on Mar 26, 2015

I used to eat these when I was a kid growing up. We bought them in a supermarket in Jersey City NJ called Great Eastern. I've looked for years but could not remember the name. Thanks for the great memories.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 found the following review helpful:
HEAVEN ON EARTH
5 Stars
by Kelli ROACH from Acworth, GA on Feb 23, 2015

We have often talked about these mints over the past 30 some years. Growing up when we would take a car trip my mom would buy these, if my sister and I were good she would let us pick out whatever color we wanted. My mom is now 77 and starting chemo and radiation tomorrow. On a whim I thought I would try and see if anyone made these anymore. To my delight I found Oliver's, it truly brought tears to my eyes. I ordered 2 boxes and cannot wait to get them to give them to my mom. She has a long round ahead of her and I know these will make her smile. Thank You so much for continuing a long time favorite candy.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 226 found the following review helpful:
They're found!
5 Stars
by a member from Iowa City IA on Jan 6, 2014

Brandeis department stores in Omaha sold these, and I would spend my babysitting money on them in the 70s. They were made by the Omaha Candy Company. Brandeis closed, and then one could special order them from Miller & Paine in Lincoln. They closed. Then the candy company closed. I've been searching for these for 30 years. So happy my sister found them for me! Just missing the pastel blue, then my nostalgia would be complete.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 266 found the following review helpful:
See's Candies Stopped making these in 1972
5 Stars
by Laurie Bentley from Gardena, CA on Nov 11, 2013

These just great. I was thrilled to find them again a couple of years ago. I can't thank Oliver's Candies enough for offering them.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


229 of 406 found the following review helpful:
So happy to find these!
5 Stars
by Suzanne Hanlon from Michigan on Dec 13, 2012

Pastel Mints were an all time favorite of mine and I was so disappointed when the candy store stopped carrying them in the 80's. Thank you so much for making them again! I love the mint flavors and lemon but used to be especially fond of Lime. I wish you had them in lime, maybe having them in a larger box so we could get lime and orange as well as the others already available. Thank you for a great product, I will be ordering many more times!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


277 of 507 found the following review helpful:
Wonderful
5 Stars
by Audrey Mucci from CT on Feb 27, 2012

I was hoping that these were the same mints that used to be in my great-grandmother's house when we would visit over 40 years ago. They are a memory from both my childhood and my mother's. I ordered two boxes of these one for myself and one for my mother. We were not disappointed. The candies are exactly like I remember. Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


244 of 513 found the following review helpful:
So Pleased.
5 Stars
by Cathy from B-ville Ny on Dec 25, 2011

Best candies EVER!!!They are really soft and melt in your mouth.Wish they cost a little less but still worth it.Haven't had them in years but there just like I remembered them.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


302 of 640 found the following review helpful:
pastel mints
5 Stars
by a member from OAK LAWN IL on Jan 13, 2011

These mints were just like I remembered them from my childhood.They were great!When I told my husband how excited I was to find these he told me that it is going to be the memory that is great not the candy. However when they came he ate most of the box and agreed they were great!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


292 of 629 found the following review helpful:
Can't Believe That I Found Them!!
5 Stars
by Nancy Lucas from Enterprise, AL on Jan 13, 2011

I have searched for these mints for years, I knew them as Pastel Mints and never thought that I would find them again. I ordered two boxes and they are exactly as I remember them from years ago in Massachusetts. THANK YOU Oliver's for bringing back these wonderful mints!! Getting ready to order two more boxes!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


268 of 604 found the following review helpful:
The Best Christmas Gift I got!
5 Stars
by a member from Chicago Area, Illinois, USA on Jan 6, 2011

And I bought them myself when I saw them listed in the Vermont catalog. I had such high hopes that they were the same candy I used to tremendously enjoy in my teens. And on Christmas Eve they arrived and I was a teenager again!!! Thank-you so much for making my Christmas so happy - And I even shared a few with my grandchildren too!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


305 of 634 found the following review helpful:
WOW!! I found them!!!
5 Stars
by a member from Northfield, MA on Dec 19, 2010

I recently picked up a catalog from VCS and was so excited to find the pastel mints! So I went onto their website to order some ($24.95!!) but couldn't actually put the items in my "basket" to purchase. I talked with someone at work and he told me that the store was only an hour away. This afternoon I took a ride to the store only to find out that they #1 didn't have any in the store and #2 they were no longer carrying them!! I came home and "googled" Pastel Mints and found this site and just placed my order for 3 boxes :))) I'm afraid I won't be able to find them again and don't want to run out for a while. I'm praying they are the same mints I LOVED when I was a kid. They carried them at our local grocery and came in a long box with the 5 flavors/colors (orange, pink, yellow, white and green). I can't wait to get them in the mail!!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


286 of 627 found the following review helpful:
Excellent
5 Stars
by Gloria from NY on Nov 9, 2010

The pastel mints are as good as I remember them to be. I've searched candy shops and online stores but could only find them here and at Vermont Country Store. The price is also excellent. Love these candies.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


288 of 607 found the following review helpful:
Pastel Mints
5 Stars
by Janie Dixon from Delaware on Jul 21, 2010

I knew them as Pastel Mints, slender box about .89 cents I use to pay for them. I can't tell you how many boxes I purchased in the 70's. What a joy to taste them again. Found them in the Vermont Store. I almost flipped when i saw the Whip & Chill. Because of the cost it will be a treat to purchase on occasion.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


288 of 605 found the following review helpful:
Thank you so much.
5 Stars
by Karen Laureigh from Martinsburg, WV on Mar 8, 2010

I can't tell you how thrilled I was to find these mints. As a teenager in the 70s, there was a candy store across the street from a friend's house in Sea Side Heights, NJ. Wherever I would go to visit her, I would always stop in the store and buy a pound of these mints. I have not had them since, but these mints are exactly the same and really take me back. Thank you so much for these wonderful mints.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


270 of 546 found the following review helpful:
Pastel Mints
5 Stars
by a member from Washington Township, New Jersey on Jan 25, 2010

Just as I remember them. Nothing like it anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


291 of 582 found the following review helpful:
Ya gotta love 'em!
5 Stars
by Sally Wilyat from Woodstock, IL USA on Jul 14, 2009

As a child, you could buy pastel mints almost anywhere but then they disappeared. How excellent to find them again, just as delicious!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 533 found the following review helpful:
Pastel Mints
5 Stars
by a member from Huntington, IN on May 22, 2009

I thought I had lost these mints forever when the old time candy store in my town closed. These mints remind me of the trips down town with my sister when we had only quarters to spend. These mints were my favorite. I can't think Olivers enough for these wonderful mints. They are truly fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


255 of 516 found the following review helpful:
Oh my Gosh! Just Like I Remebered from Childhood
5 Stars
by buckcross from Vermont on Dec 13, 2008

I have been waiting 30 years to find these pastel mint candies in a long thin box that my grandmother used to dole out to my brothers and I when we visited her as a child in the 60's. I have been looking for these...and the flavor is amazing! It was worth the wait...unbelieveably minty and refresing!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


271 of 566 found the following review helpful:
Pastel Mints
5 Stars
by Greg Biddle from Carnegie, Pa USA on Nov 24, 2008

I can't believe no one has written a review on these Pastel Mints yet! Those of us from Pittsburgh remember these being sold by Bolan's candies on Grant Street. Bolan's is still around in a sort of "retired statesman" form, in that they make these mints in very limited quantity for a candy store in Pittsburgh of another name. I don't know if there is a conection between Bolans and Olivers, or whether or not the recipe for the mints are the same, but they certainly taste identical to me and are as wonderful as the memories of theese from Bolan's heyday, when I was a child, and my mom would always buy these for our family's trip to Lake Erie in the summer. They are obvioiusly based on a fondant recipe and, I would guess, use pure oil flavorings. They are a true treasure and I am very happy and thankful that Oliver's is keeping them alive for future generations (and me too in my old age!) Yes, they are delicate and will not tolerate the heat and humidity well. But then, they won't last long enough to be effected - the box will dissappear quickly - order two or more at the same time!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No